DOCUMENTATION

An applicant for deferral must
furnish whatever information is
reasonably required to establish
eligibility under the terms of the
statute. This information may
include, but not limited to:

1. Birth certificate.

2. Evidence of ownership,
domicile and occupancy.

3. Income tax returns.

PAYMENT

The payment of deferred taxes
and accrued interest is due upon
the sale of the property or the
death of the taxpayer, if the
surviving spouse does not
continue to defer. As of that date,
the interest rate goes up to 16%.
If 6 months later, the deferred
amount has not been paid, the
treasurer may petition the Land
Court to foreclose the lien on the

property.

Rev 7-2017 Hopedale

FOR FURTHER
INFORMATION, CONTACT
YOUR LOCAL BOARD OF
ASSESSORS:

Hopedale Board of Assessors
74 Hopedale Street
Hopedale, MA 01747

508-634-2203 x224
508-634-2203 x214

tgonsalves@hopedale-ma.gov

TAXPAYER’S GUIDE
TO REAL ESTATE
TAX EXEMPTIONS IN
HOPEDALE

Clause 41A

Property Tax Deferral

(65 years of age or older)

Local Option

Hopedale Board of Assessors
74 Hopedale Street
Hopedale, MA 01747



INTRODUCTION

An exemption is a privilege granted by the
Legislature to certain classes of persons or
property. An exemption reduces by certain
amounts the tax owed.

Unlike an exemption which discharges a tax
obligation, Clause 41 A permits a senior taxpayer
to delay payment of property taxes which
ultimately must be paid to the community. This
defers payment until the senior sells the property
or passes away. A deferral allows seniors to use
resources that would go to pay taxes to defray
living expenses instead. Taxpayers who qualify
for personal exemptions under other clauses in
M.G.L. ¢.59, § 5 (for example seniors, disabled
veterans, blind persons or surviving spouses)
may defer all op part of the balance of their
reduced taxes.

A qualified applicant must enter into a written
tax deferral and recovery agreement with the
community’s assessors who record a statement
at the Registry of Deeds to continue the lien that
exists on the property by law to secure payment.
Joint owners, remaindermen and/or mortgagees
must give prior written approval.

APPLICATIONS

Applications must be filed annually with the
local assessors in the city or town where the
property is located on or before December 15th,
or three months after the actual tax bills are
mailed, whichever is later. “Filing on time is
required. By law, the assessors may not
waive this filing deadline, nor act on a late
application, for any reason.” Filing an
application does not entitle the applicant to a
delay in tax payment.
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ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS

An applicant must satisfy tests relating to age,
domicile, ownership and occupancy, and annual
income. All eligibility requirements must be met
as of July 1 of the tax year.

Age — An applicant must be at least 65 years of
age.

Domicile — An applicant must have had a
domicile or legal home in Massachusetts for ten
consecutive years before the tax year begins.
The applicant must also be domiciled in the
property that is the subject of the application.

Ownership and Occupancy — An applicant
must have owned and occupied the subject
property or other real property in Massachusetts
as a domicile for at least 5 years. The years do
not have to be consecutive or for the same
location.

1.  You may own the property solely, as a
joint owner or as a tenant in common
2. If you hold a life estate in the domicile,
you are considered the owner
3. If your domicile is held in trust, you are
considered the owner only if:
a. Youare a trustee or co-trustee
of that trust, and
b. You have a sufficient
beneficial interest in the
domicile

Gross Receipts — An applicant’s gross receipts
from all sources cannot exceed $30,000 (local
option beginning with Fiscal Year 2007). If
married, combined gross receipts cannot exceed
$30,000. Gross receipts means income from
all sources and is broader than taxable
income from federal or state income tax
purposes. Ordinary business expenses and
losses may be deducted but not personal or
family expenses. By local option, upon
acceptance by the city council, town council or
town meeting, the amount of qualifying gross

receipts can be increased to an amount up to
$40,000.

DEFERRAIL AMOUNT

A taxpayer who qualifies may defer payment of
all or part of the taxes owed each year so long as
(1) you continue to qualify, and (2) the
cumulative deferred taxes and accrued interest
are not more than 50% of your proportional
ownership share of the fair cash value of the
property. For example, if you are a joint owner
with one other person, the total amount deferred
cannot be more than 25% of the property’s value

If you own the property with someone who is
not your spouse, the amount you may defer
annually is also limited to your proportional
ownership share of the year’s tax.

Interest on deferred taxes accrues at 8% or a
lower rate voted by the legislative body of your
city or Town before July 1of the tax year.

The Town of Hopedale adopted the local
option beginning with Fiscal Year 2007 and
the interest rate on deferred taxes currently
accrues at 5%.

Surviving Spouse
You surviving spouse who qualifies may
continue to defer taxes but must enter into
anew deferral and recovery agreement.
Surviving spouses who inherit a property
must have occupied it, or other real estate
in Massachusetts, as a domicile for at least
5 years. Any additional taxes plus interest
deferred by you surviving spouse, plus any
amounts previously differed and unpaid,
cannot be more than 50% of the spouse’
proportional ownership share of the fair
cash value of the property.




