
 

Documentation 

The Applicant must provide the assessors with 
whatever information reasonably required to 
establish eligibility.  This information may include, 
but not be limited to: 

1. Birth certificate 
2. Evidence of ownership, domicile, and 

occupancy 
3. Income tax returns 

 

Payment 

The payment of deferred taxes and accrued 
interest is due when the property is sold or you 
pass away, unless your surviving spouse 
continues to defer.  As of that date, the interest 
rate goes up to 16%.  If 6 months later, the 
deferred amount has not been paid, the treasurer 
may petition the Land Court to foreclose the lien 
on the property. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION, CONTACT 
YOUR LOCAL BOARD OF ASSESSORS: 

 

Hopedale Board of Assessors 
74 Hopedale Street 
Hopedale, MA 01747 
 
508-634-2203 x 214 
508-634-2203 x 224 
 
awilliams@hopedale-ma.gov 
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Introduction 
 
Cities and towns may give property tax exemptions to 
some individuals as defined by state law.  An exemption 
discharges the taxpayer from legal obligation to pay all 
or a part of the tax assessed for the fiscal year.  
Exemptions are found in various clauses of 
Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 59, Section 5 
(M.G.L. c 59, §5). 
 
Under Clause 41A, seniors may also be able to delay 
payment of their property taxes.  A property tax 
deferral does not discharge the tax obligation like an 
exemption.  Instead, it defers payment until the senior 
sells the property or passes away.  A deferral allows 
seniors to use resources that would go to pay taxes to 
defray living expenses instead.  Taxpayers who qualify 
for personal exemptions under other clauses in M.G.L. c 
59, § 5 (for example, for seniors, disabled veterans, 
blind persons or surviving spouses) may defer all or 
part of the balance of their reduced taxes. 
 
A Qualified applicant must enter into a written tax 
deferral and recovery agreement with the local 
assessors.  The assessors will record a statement at the 
Registry of Deeds to continue the lien that exists on 
your property by law to secure payment of the deferred 
taxes.  Joint owners, remainderman and mortgagees 
must give prior written approval. 
 

Applications 
 
Applicants must file an application for each fiscal year 
with the assessors in the city or town where your 
property is located.  The application is due on April 1, or 
3 months after the actual tax bills are mailed, whichever 
is later.  Filing on time is required.  By Law, the 
assessors may not waive this filing deadline, nor act 
on a late application, for any reason. Filing an 
application does not entitle you to delay your tax 
payment. 
 

Eligibility Requirements 
 
An Applicant must satisfy tests relating to age, 
domicile, ownership, occupancy and annual 
income.  You must meet all eligibility 
requirements as of July 1 of the tax year.  (The 
fiscal year of cities and towns begins July 1 and 
ends the following June 30.)  If you do not meet 

all the requirements as of July1, you cannot 
defer all or any portion of your taxes for that 
tax year. 
 
Age:  An applicant must be 65 or older. 
 
Domicile:  An Applicant must have had a domicile 
in Massachusetts for at least 10 consecutive years 
before the tax year begins.  You must also be 
domiciled in the property.  Your domicile is where 
your principal and legal home is located, your 
family, social, civic and economic life is centered 
and where you plan to return whenever you are 
away.  You may have more than 1 residence but 
only 1 domicile. 
 
Ownership & Occupancy: An Applicant must have 
owned and occupied the property, or other real 
property in Massachusetts, as a domicile for at 
least 5 years.  The years do not have to be 
consecutive or at the same location. 
 

1. You may own the property solely, as a 
joint owner or as a tenant in common. 

2. If you hold a life estate in the domicile, 
you are the owner. 

3. If your domicile is held in a trust, you are 
the owner only if: 

a. You are a trustee or co-trustee of 
that trust and  

b. You have a sufficient beneficial 
interest in the domicile. 

 
Income Limits 

 
An Applicants gross receipts for the previous 
calendar cannot exceed $30,000 (local option 
beginning with Fiscal Year 2007).  I you are 
married, the combined gross receipts of you and 
your spouse cannot exceed $30,000.  Gross 
receipts mean income from all sources and is 
broader than taxable income for federal or 
state income tax purposes.  Ordinary business 
expenses and losses are deducted but not 
personal or family expenses.  By local option, upon 
acceptance by the city council, town council or 

town meeting, the amount of qualifying gross 
receipts can be increased to an amount up to 
$40,000. 

 
 

Deferral Amount 
 

A taxpayer that qualifies may defer payment of all 
or part of the taxes owed each year so long as (1) 
you continue to qualify, and (2) the cumulative 
deferred taxes and accrued interest are not more 
than 50% of your proportional ownership share of 
the fair cash value of the property.  For example, if 
you are the joint owner with one other person, the 
total amount deferred cannot be more than 25% 
of the property’s value. 
 
If you own the property with someone who is not 
your spouse, the amount you may defer annually 
is also limited to your proportional ownership 
share of the year’s tax. 
 
Interest on deferred taxes accrues at 8%, or a 
lower rate voted by the legislative body of your 
city or town before July 1 of the tax year. 
 
The Town of Hopedale adopted the local 
option beginning with Fiscal Year 2007 and 
the interest rate on deferred taxes currently 
accrues at 5%. 

 
Surviving Spouse 

 
Your surviving spouse who qualifies may continue 
to defer taxes but must enter into a new deferral 
and recovery agreement.  Surviving spouses who 
inherit a property must have occupied it, or other 
real property in Massachusetts, as a domicile for 
at least 5 years.  Any additional taxes plus interest 
deferred by your surviving spouse, plus the 
amounts previously deferred and unpaid, cannot 
be more than 50% of the spouse’s proportional 
ownership share of the fail cash value of the 
property. 


